Executive Director


Marion Smith


Marion Smith is a civil society leader and expert in international affairs, and has been executive director of the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation since March 2014. As Executive Director, he provides strategic leadership for VOC and spearheads its educational initiatives. He is also founding president of the Common Sense Society, an international foundation that promotes civic engagement, entrepreneurship, and leadership virtues among young professionals in the United States and Europe.

Marion is a native of South Carolina and chairman of the National Civic Art Society. He was previously a visiting fellow at the B. Kenneth Simon Center for Principles and Politics at the Heritage Foundation. His articles have appeared in publications including USA TodayThe HillThe Washington PostThe Wall Street JournalNational Review, and The Weekly Standard. He is a regular guest analyst on major network and cable television news channels, including ABC, NBC, MSNBC, Fox News, and CNN.

Director Smith addresses a crowd of protestors outside the White House during Xi Jinping's 2015 visit to Washington.

Director Smith addresses a crowd of protestors outside the White House during Xi Jinping's 2015 visit to Washington.


Board of Trustees


Lee Edwards, PhD

Amb. Aldona Wos, MD

The Honorable James Burnley IV

Elizabeth Spalding, PhD Secretary

Marion Smith
Executive Director and Trustee

The Honorable Paula J. Dobriansky, PhD

Edwin J. Feulner, Jr., PhD

Ingrid Gregg, PhD

The Honorable Jay K. Katzen

Edith Lauer

Thomas Peterffy

The Honorable Donald Ritter, ScD

Randal C. Teague

W. Bruce Weinrod


Advisory Council


H.E. Sali Berisha, Albania

Vladimir Bukovsky, Russia

H.E. Emil Constantinescu, Romania

The Honorable Dennis DeConcini

The Honorable Robert Dole

The Honorable Carl Gershman

H.E. Mart Laar, Estonia

H.E. Vytautas Landsbergis, PhD Lithuania

Major General John K. Singlaub, USA (Ret.)

Katrina Lantos Swett, PhD

H.E. Guntis Ulmanis, Latvia

The Honorable Armando Valladares, Cuba

The Very Rev. Charles H. Nalls, CH (COL.) (Ret.)


Academic Council


Alan Charles Kors, PhD

Peter Rollberg, PhD

Peter Boettke, PhD

Jonathan Brent, PhD

Marek Jan Chodakiewicz, PhD

Frank Dikötter, PhD

Paul Goble


Paul R. Gregory, PhD

Hope M. Harrison, PhD

John E. Haynes, PhD

Harvey Klehr, PhD

Mark Kramer

A. James McAdams, PhD


Sean McMeekin, PhD

Aaron Rhodes, PhD

David Satter

F. Flagg Taylor, IV, PhD

George Weigel