The 30th Anniversary of the Tiananmen Square Massacre

To mark the 30th anniversary of the Tiananmen Square Massacre, the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation (VOC)—along with more than 20 human rights organizations—held a rally on the West Lawn of the U.S. Capitol to award the Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom to the Tiananmen Mothers and to demand justice for the victims of the Chinese Communist Party.

Tiananmen Mothers Awarded Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom


Mi Ling Tsui of Human Rights in China holding our Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom awarded to the Tiananmen Mothers, who are routinely put under house arrest or jailed around the June 4th anniversary. Ms. Tsui quoted a letter by one of the Tiananmen Mothers stating, "The government is afraid of the power amongst civil society to lift the lid on the case of the June 4th Massacre."
>>> Watch Marion Smith's remarks.
>>> Watch Mi Ling Tsui's remarks.

Speaker Pelosi Delivers a Powerful Message


Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) remarked, "In honor of all those who died for democracy in Tiananmen Square and around the world, we pledge to preserve their memory and continue their fight." >>> Watch her full remarks.


Co-Chair of the Victims of Communism Congressional Caucus Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ) (top), Chairman of the Congressional-Executive Committee on China Rep. Jim McGovern (D-MA) (left), and Member of the House Foreign Affairs Subcommittee on Asia and the Pacific Rep. Andy Levin (D-MI) (right) shared their reflections on the solemn anniversary and spoke in support of the freedom of the Chinese people.
>>> Watch Rep. Chris Smith's remarks.
>>> Watch Rep. Jim McGovern's remarks.
>>> Watch Rep. Andy Levin's remarks.

Rally Speakers Included

Rushan Abbas, Campaign for Uyghurs
Kahar Barat, International Uyghur Human Rights and Democracy Foundation
Francisco Bencosme, Amnesty International USA
Annie Boyajian, Freedom House
Dr. Wang Dan, Dialogue China
Shartsong Dhetan, Central Tibetan Administration
Tendor Dorjee, Tibet Action Institute & Students for a Free Tibet
Dr. Lee Edwards, Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation
Dr. Bob Fu, ChinaAid
Chen Guangcheng, The Chen Guangcheng Foundation
Tracy Jiao, The Church of Almighty God
Wei Jingsheng, Wei Jingsheng Foundation

Dr. Katrina Lantos Swett, Lantos Foundation for Human Rights and Justice
Reggie Littlejohn, Women’s Rights Without Frontiers
Matteo Mecacci, International Campaign for Tibet
Kristina Olney, Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation
Marco Respinti, Bitter Winter
Dr. Sophie Richardson, Human Rights Watch
Marion Smith, Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation
Mi Ling Tsui, Human Rights in China
Jenny Wang, Keep Taiwan Free
Dee Wu, Formosan Association for Public Affairs
Dr. Jianli Yang, Citizen Power Initiatives for China

VOC and Hoover Institution co-hosted a panel conversation featuring Hoover fellow Dr. Michael Auslin, Chinese democracy activist and former political prisoner Wei Jingsheng, Claremont McKenna College Professor Minxin Pei, Founder of Dialogue China Wang Dan, and VOC Executive Director Marion Smith.

The Candlelight of Memory From Washington to Hong Kong


At the candlelight vigil in Hong Kong Monday night organized by Hong Kong Alliance in Support of Patriotic Democratic Movements in China (right), it was announced to a crowd of over 180,000 that the Tiananmen Mothers would be awarded the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation's Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom. That same night, a candlelight vigil was held at the Victims of Communism Memorial statue in Washington, D.C. (left).

Thank you to everyone who helped make this such a significant occasion, especially our rally co-sponsors.